Moorpark College Academic Senate Council Minutes

Friday, August 14, 2020, 12:00 – 12:25 PM via Zoom

Mission Statement: With a "students first" philosophy, Moorpark College empowers its diverse community of learners to complete their goals for academic transfer, basic skills, and career education. Moorpark College integrates instruction and student services, collaborates with industry and educational partners, and promotes a global perspective.

All handouts are available on the Academic Senate handout website

I) Public Comments

- A. Josepha Baca complimented Erik Reese on his "moving and timely speech" at Convocation.
- B. Patty Colman asked if Senate would consider taking up a statement of solidarity with Black Lives Matter.
- C. Marnie Melendez said that she echoed Josepha's comments and that it was refreshing to have new leadership. She was very hopeful that we were moving in the right direction. She was very proud of Erik and his message.
- D. Nathan Bowen suggesting that in the future, public comments could include calling out someone (in a positive way) for their support of BLM.

II) Introductions

- A. Erik introduced himself and stated that his role is to the voice of faculty in support of student success. He invited those present to "drown" him in emails about any concerns, ideas, and/or successes they might have.
- B. Tiffany and Ruth introduced themselves.
- C. Erik invited the faculty co-chairs of the standing committees to introduce themselves
- D. DE Committee: Shannon Macias invited everyone to attend the committee meetings on the fourth Wednesday of the month, and to share their concerns.
- E. EdCAP Committee: Nenagh Brown reported that the Moorpark College midterm report was approved by the Board without complication.
- F. F/TCAP Committee: Norm Marten invited everyone to contact him regarding allocations of technology or facilities.
- G. Professional Development Committee: Beth Gillis-Smith expresesd excitement at an event supporting BLM on August 19 at 2:30 pm. This year, the PD committee will include a focus on professional development for classified and student workers, as well as for faculty.
- H. SEA Committee: Trulie Thompson reported that the committee meets on the fourth Wednesday of the month from 1:00 2:30 pm. The next meeting is August 26.

- I. SLO Committee: Dani Vieira reported that the new platform for SLOs is eLumen. The committee meets on the second Tuesday of the month, and the first meeting will be in October.
- J. Erik thanked all the co-chairs and fellow members of the Senate Executive.

III) Call for Nominations

- A. Erik officially called for nominations for the position of AS Secretary. Nominations are due by noon Friday August 28 as are the candidate statements. The electio will be held at the AS Council meeting on September 1.
- B. John Loprieno nominated Nathan Bowen as AS secretary which Nathan accepted.
- C. Marnie Melendez nominated Perry Martin. Perry said that while he really appreciated the nomination, he respectfully declined.

IV) Academic Senate Council goals for 2020-2021

- A. Erik stated while the bulk of the work of senate is largely set for us, there is still perhaps 20% on which Senate may choose its focus.
- B. Beth Megill asked for support of the Arts as they are a key to progress. Students are electing out of classes in the Arts because of the restrictions due to COVID-19. She asked that senate keep in mind the role of the Arts in equity and diversity "culture lives in the Arts."
- C. Tamarra Coleman asked for time at the first meeting for comments from a VCCARA representative. Erik agreed to facilitate this request.
- D. Perry Bennett suggested getting rid of Barnes and Noble (the campus bookstore) because of the amounts they charge over the publishers' prices. Brian Burns suggested ZTC and OER as possible solutions. Perry said that those are not the solution for everything.
- E. Vince Crisostomo expressed his thanks to Nenagh Brown for her past years of service as AS president.
- F. Erik said that everyone is invited to come to all AS meetings and said not to hesitate to reach out to him.

V) Adjournment

A. Meeting adjourned at 12:28 pm

Frik Reese Fiffany Pawluk		Library	-	
Tiffany Pawluk			Danielle Kaprelian	
		Life Sciences	Jazmir Hernandez Audrey Chen	
		Mathematics	Chris Copeland Curtis Paul	
Ruth Bennington		Media Art / Comm Studies	Jenna Patronete Nicole Block	
olie Herzig Silva Arzunyan		Performing Arts	John Loprieno Nathan Bowen	
/ance Manakas Mike Stuart		Physics / Ast / Engr / CS	- Scarlet Relle	
Dani Vieira Kari Meyers		Social Sciences	Matthew Morgan Susan Kinkella Rex Edwards	
osepha Baca Reet Sumal		Student Health Center	Sharon Manakas Silva Arzunyan	
Tiffany Pawluk Deanna Franke		Visual Arts	Svetlana Kasalovic Cynthia Minet	
Cindy Sheaks-McGowan Shannon Coulter		World Languages	Perry Bennett Alejandra Valenzuela	
Chuck Brinkman odi Dickey		Part-time Faculty Representative	Felix Masci Dan Darby	
Gary Wilson Cindy Wilson		AFT Representative (non-voting)	Hugo Hernandez	
Sydney Sims erry Mansfield		CTE Liaison (non-voting)	Christy Douglass	
Marnie Melendez Angie Rodriguez		GP Liaison (non-voting)	Traci Allen	
Adam Black		Student Liaison (non-voting)		
Michelle Dieterich Dalila Sankaran		Committee Co- Chairs (non-voting)		
	olie Herzig ilva Arzunyan Vance Manakas Aike Stuart Dani Vieira Cari Meyers Osepha Baca Cari Meyers Osepha Baca Cari Meyers Osepha Baca Cari Meyers Osepha Baca Cari Meyers Osepha Baca Cari Meyers Chary Pawluk Deanna Franke Cindy Sheaks-McGowan channon Coulter Chuck Brinkman Odi Dickey Cary Wilson Cindy Black Marnie Melendez Carigie Rodriguez	olie Herzig ilva Arzunyan Vance Manakas Aike Stuart Dani Vieira Cari Meyers Osepha Baca Cari Meyers Osepha Baca Cari Meyers Osepha Baca Care Sumal Tiffany Pawluk Deanna Franke Cindy Sheaks-McGowan hannon Coulter Chuck Brinkman Odi Dickey Cary Wilson Cindy Black Marnie Melendez Adam Black Adam Black Adam Black	Ruth BenningtonComm Studiesolie Herzig ilva ArzunyanPerforming Arts/ance ManakasPhysics / Ast / Engr / CS/ani Vieira Cari MeyersSocial Sciencesosepha BacaStudent Health Centerceet SumalVisual ArtsCindy Sheaks-McGowan hannon CoulterWorld LanguagesChuck Brinkman Cary WilsonPart-time Faculty RepresentativeCindy WilsonAFT Representative (non-voting)Visual Melendez Marnie MelendezGP Liaison (non-voting)Arrie Melendez Magie RodriguezGP Liaison (non-voting)Adam Black Michelle Dieterich Oalila SankaranCommittee Co- Chairs (non-voting)	Ruth BenningtonComm StudiesNicole Blockolie Herzig ilva ArzunyanPerforming ArtsJohn Loprieno Nathan Bowen/ance ManakasPhysics / Ast / Engr / CS-/aike StuartEngr / CSScarlet RelleDani Vieira (ari MeyersSocial SciencesMatthew Morgan Susan Kinkella Rex EdwardsSosepha Baca teet SumalStudent Health CenterSharon Manakas Svetlana Kasalovic Cynthia MinetDeanna FrankeVisual ArtsSvetlana Kasalovic Cynthia MinetCindy Sheaks-McGowan hannon CoulterPart-time Faculty Representative (non-voting)Perry Bennett Alejandra ValenzuelaChuck Brinkman cindy WilsonAFT Representative (non-voting)Pan DarbyVarne Melendez ungie RodriguezGP Liaison (non-voting)Christy DouglassMarnie Melendez Marie Black Arine BlackGP Liaison (non-voting)Traci Allen